© 2024
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Nine Northeast States Agree To Further Power Plant Carbon Cuts


Nine Mid-Atlantic and New England states have agreed to update their regional environmental pact to further reduce power plant carbon emissions to fight global climate change.
New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced Wednesday that states in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative have agreed to reduce the cap on emissions an additional 30 percent below 2020 levels by 2030. The Democrat says the new cap will be 65 percent below the 2009 starting level.

RGGI caps carbon dioxide emissions and trades the excess in auctions. The pact includes New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Republican New Jersey Governor Chris Christie pulled his state out of the pact in 2011, saying it amounted to a tax on utility customers.

All contents copyright 2017 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Related Content