© 2023
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Residents of four more Hudson Valley counties eligible for disaster aid

Four more Hudson Valley counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Sandy. The declaration now offers Individual Assistance to residents of Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties.

Rockland and Westchester counties were approved to receive the assistance days ago along with New York metropolitan area counties. Those two counties are also eligible for Public Assistance aid.

The federal disaster declaration was approved to enable the federal government to provide assistance and resources to New York State and local governments to support activities related to evacuation, sheltering, and other protective measures, including debris removal, logistics management and electric power generation.

Information on grants or loans from the Federal Emergency Management Administration can be found by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) between 7 a.m.-10 p.m. EST or online at www.disasterassistance.gov.