© 2022
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Capital Region News

Schenectady County Bans Tobacco Sales For Those Under 21


Schenectady County has joined the five other counties in New York State that have banned the sale of tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21.

The new law that goes into effect September 1st, includes cigarettes, e-cigarettes, and liquid nicotine. It ultimately passed the Schenectady County Legislature 8-4 with two legislators absent and one abstaining.

Albany, Chautauqua, and Cortland Counties had opted to prohibit the sale of tobacco earlier this year. Nationwide, 184 localities plus the states of California and Hawaii have banned the sale of tobacco to people under the age of 21. Public Health Groups such as the American Heart Association have praised the decision. 

Related Content