© 2024
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

FEMA Sandy Disaster-Aid Deadline is Extended

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has announced that the deadline for FEMA disaster assistance for residents affected by Hurricane Sandy has been extended.

Residents of thirteen counties declared disaster areas from the storm may now apply for Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster assistance through March 29. The previous deadline was today (February 27). In addition to Long Island and New York City counties, residents in Rockland, Westchester, Orange, Putnam, Sullivan, and Ulster Counties are eligible. Federal disaster assistance for individuals and families can include money for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property losses and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance. The state’s request also included a 30-day extension for individuals and businesses to apply to the Small Business Administration for lowered-interest loans.

Related Content