Broome County | WAMC

Broome County

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo

New York state officials have called off the Phase Two reopening for five of its upstate economic regions, including the Mohawk Valley, North Country, Finger Lakes, Southern Tier and central New York. 

Angered over the state’s ban on hydraulic fracturing, some towns in New York's Southern Tier have raised the idea of seceding to Pennsylvania. The local municipalities' "wishful thinking" has attracted national attention.

Beneath New York's economically distressed Southern Tier: the same gas-rich Marcellus Shale formation that has allowed Pennsylvania and other states to cash in on the fracking boom. In December, after years "on hold," the Cuomo administration finally addressed hydraulic fracturing, banning it based on potential health risks and "overstated" economic benefits.