© 2022
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Vermont Gov. Phil Scott to seek fourth term
New York News

Counties in New York Receive Federal Disaster Declaration

By Pat Bradley


Plattsburgh, NY – Beginning in late April, severe storms caused damage to infrastructure in counties across New York. President Obama declared a federal disaster in 21 counties Friday, extending federal assistance for emergency work, infrastructure repair and replacement.
Lake Champlain went over flood stage on April 13th and peaked 3.2 feet over on May 6th. The 100-mile long lake has begun a slow recession, but its level remains just above flood stage. In Plattsburgh, in Clinton County, damage to shoreline properties, homes, city streets and the city-owned beach is only now becoming visible. Director of Emergency Services Eric Day says the federal declaration is a big step forward for local communities......

In Essex County, Lake Champlain is still damaging shoreline areas, a landslide on Porter Mountain continues its slow slide downhill, damaging property and destroying homes. Flooding in earlier storms destroyed roads and bridges. Director of Emergency Services Don Jaquist.....

Town of Jay Supervisor Randy Douglas is chair of the Essex County Board of Supervisors. He says officials will discuss the region's needs during a briefing with federal officials on Tuesday...........

The counties designated under the federal disaster declaration are:Allegany, Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Steuben, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, and Yates.