© 2022
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts & Culture

The Albany Symphony Walks With Giants On 3/19

Sleeping Giant

On Saturday, March 19, 2016 at 7:30 PM, the Albany Symphony will perform a concert featuring masterpieces by Vivaldi and Samuel Barber, as well as new and recent works by six innovative young composers.

Curated by the Sleeping Giant Composer Collective, To Walk With Giants features three re-workings of Mozart’s piano concerto movements and Vivaldi’s Violin Concerto in C Major, performed by Concert Master Jill Levy and encapsulated within Robert Honstein’s orchestral suite, Night Scenes from the Ospedale.

In addition, the orchestra will perform a modern masterpiece, Ingram Marshall’s Kingdom Come. It is an innovative program to be presented at the historic Palace Theatre in downtown Albany.

To tell us more we welcome Albany Symphony Orchestra maestro, David Alan Miller along with composer and pianist Timo Andres.

Related Content