party

From awkward schoolgirl to Caterer to the Stars, Mary Giuliani has gathered together a collection of hilarious memories, from professional growing pains to her long journey to motherhood, never losing her sense of humor and her love for everyone's favorite party food, pigs in a blanket.

Her new book is “Tiny Hot Dogs: A Memoir in Small Bites.”

Andrea Bartz is a Brooklyn-based journalist and coauthor of the blog-turned-book "Stuff Hipsters Hate," which The New Yorker called “depressingly astute.” Her work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Marie Claire, Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Women’s Health, Martha Stewart Living, Redbook, Elle, and many other outlets, and she’s held editorial positions at Glamour, Psychology Today, and Self, among other titles.

Her debut novel, "The Lost Night," is a tightly paced thriller. In 2009, Edie had New York’s social world in her thrall. When Edie’s body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end.

A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of her youth in 2009, but when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered and, worse, if she herself was involved.

  The Olana Partnership’s much-anticipated summer party returns to the Hudson Valley on Saturday, August 8 from 5-8pm. This year’s theme “Icebergs in August” celebrates Frederic Church’s epic 1859 voyage to Newfoundland and Labrador and will offer guests an evening of ice, art and arctic inspired hors d’oeuvres.

Church’s Olana will appear behind an immense iceberg created for the evening by ice artist Sean Taylor of Capital City Carvers.

To tell us more we welcome - Sean Sawyer, President of The Olana Partnership; Christine Jones, Board Member and Co-Chair of the Event and Chef Brian Alberg from the Red Lion Inn.

  In the tradition of The Great Gatsby and Mrs Dalloway, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin delivers insight into five minutes in the life of a celebrated Hamptons society hostess, set against the backdrop of The Great Hurricane of 1938.

Her new novel is: The Westhampton Leisure Hour and Supper Club. The novel is based on historical research about the Hamptons at the peak of its grandeur, the devastation that the 1938 hurricane wrought, and a real supper club called The Leisure Hour and Supper Club.

    

  Kingston’s Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History is sponsoring the second annual Kingston Community Block Party on June 8th from noon to 4pm at Kingston's T.R. Gallo West Strand Park. The multicultural festival is a free, family-friendly, multicultural festival which will feature live ethnic music, dance and comedy, along with handicrafts and children’s activities, including arts and crafts, games, singing and storytelling.

Here to tell us more are Geoff Miller, chairman of Kingston’s Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History, and Gerry Harrington.