NYRA Announces New Board

Jun 7, 2017

The New York Racing Association has a new board of directors as the organization is released from state control to a private non-profit.

NYRA operates thoroughbred racetracks Aqueduct, Belmont and Saratoga. For the past several years, the organization has been under state control following falling revenues and numerous scandals.

Now back in the black, the new 17-member board is filled with familiar faces who served on the previous board, with appointments made by Governor Andrew Cuomo, the state legislature, and industry groups.

The new board will be chaired by Michael Del Guidice and the organization led by CEO Chris Kay.

Re-privatization was included in the state budget approved in April.

The members of the NYRA Board of Directors are listed below (by appointee):


  • C. Steven Dunker
  • Robert Flay
  • Marc Holliday
  • Stuart Janney
  • Timothy (Chris) Mara
  • Andrew Rosen
  • Joseph Spinelli
  • Stuart Subotnick


  • Christopher Kay

New York State Governor:

  • Michael Del Giudice (Chairman)
  • Vincent Tese

New York State Senate:

  • Earle Mack
  • Michael Dubb

New York State Assembly

  • Georgeanna Nugent
  • (Pending)

New York Thoroughbred Horseman's Association

  • Richard Violette

The New York Thoroughbred Breeders

  • Jeffrey Cannizzo