© 2024
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Massachusetts Special Election Results

Democrats made a clean sweep in a series of special elections across Massachusetts held to fill vacant legislative seats.

Daniel Hunt on Tuesday won the 13th Suffolk House District seat formerly held by Boston Mayor Martin Walsh.

Daniel Joseph Ryan won the 2nd Suffolk House District.

No Republicans ran.

RoseLee Vincent won the race for the 16th Suffolk House District.

John Velis won the election to fill the 4th Hampden House District.

Jason Lewis won the election to fill the 5th Middlesex Senate seat vacated when Katherine Clark was elected to the U.S. House.

Evandro Carvalho won the Democratic primary for the 5th Suffolk House District seat vacated following the expulsion of former Rep. Carlos Henriquez after his conviction on assault charges.

All results are unofficial.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.